PDA

View Full Version : So Confused!

muslim_girl
04-14-2007, 10:59 PM
Assalamu Alaikum,

I have an issue that has really been stressing me out A LOT, and I thought this might be a good place to come and get some advice.

I'm in my first year of university, and my parents gave me a huge shock when they told me they wanted me to get married to a cousin living back home. To be totally honest, I was totally devestated because I really did NOT want this.. it's not that I have someone else in mind, I'm just NOT interested.. AT ALL. I tried to tell my parents, but they blew up in my face, saying that they never expected this, asking me what they did wrong when they were raising me, asking if this was a punishment from Allah, and.. well, I guess you get the point.

Anyways, I talked to him, and I saw a picture of him, and I am still not interested.. AT ALL. I was pressured into accepting it, because I was told that if I disagree with what they are doing, I should leave the house, and that they will never help me with anything in life again and I should never come to them looking for advice. I am born and raised in Canada, and he is born and raised back home.

There has been no nikah or anything, and everytime I try to tell my parents I don't want this, they start yelling at me.. then, after a few days, continue as if I'm perfectly happy with it.